Negative Energy

I have been meaning to post on current affairs for some time now. Whenever I try to pen my thoughts, I feel more and more despondent eventually abandoning all attempts at coherent articulation. I have tried my best to present a rational argument here and not a cri de coeur.

Every morning we are assaulted by violence on the front pages, be it the “global war on terror” or the rise of “islamic fascism”. I do not intend to discuss the existence or origin of these phrases. What bothers me is the violence. Either the media (yes, blame the media!) selectively feeds such negative energy, or the negative energy is actually on the rise. It is becoming increasingly difficult to know for certain what is going on. Objectivity is long forgotten in this plethora of junk reporting leaving one clamber for sanity in comic strips, well before the controversy.

Human race is resilient, history tells us about wars fought over greed. If we really look back at the number of human casualities during the colonisation era alone, it dawns on us, we have progressed after all! However, should we feel complacent from such retrospection? I think not. I have always wondered what is our responsibility as “world citizens” under the present circumstances? I have no doubt that we do bear responsibility, but does it end at paying taxes and electing representatives?

Having brought up in India, the ideas of “true reality” being independent of time, space and causation are not new to me. I don’t claim even an iota of comprehension of the profundity of such a statement. Nevertheless, looking at current affairs from the perspective of such a “theoretical true reality” brings to light (theoretically of course) the futility of such endeavors as “doing something” about the world we inhabit. But then again, since I lack the understanding, I cannot extend the “true reality” concept as I please now can I ?! 🙂

DiggDigg This!

5 Comments on “Negative Energy”

  1. TZA says:

    You are sticking your toe in the great pool of the philosophy of living…the pool is not always a picture of serenity… you see the waves, and are afraid…you are currently on the shore…but this pool is not a puddle, it is an ocean, with plenty of room for another swimmer…you have the lifejackets of apathy, inconsequentialness, security in your relationships and friendships…this post does seem to be the cri de coeur rather than an argument…SWIM, SWIM LIKE THE WIND!…dammit mixed metaphor

  2. Anonymous says:

    Having brought up in India, the ideas of true reality being independent of time, space and causation are not new to me.

  3. esra says:

    “Every morning we are assaulted by violence on the front pages, be it the “global war on terror” or the rise of “islamic fascism”. I do not intend to discuss the existence or origin of these
    phrases. What bothers me is the violence. Either the media (yes, blame the media!) selectively
    feeds such negative energy, or the negative energy is actually on the rise. It is becoming
    increasingly difficult to know for certain what is going on….”

    The media is a great tool that has the power to propagate a specific kind of a ‘signal’ out to
    millions of people who are open to receive it. Some people follow the news blindly at regular
    intervals find themselves contributing to its (mission?) where they turn themselves into
    propagators and the wave moves on. I could only wish that the media used this great power to spread more positivity that negativity. But then maybe we are living in a time in which the powerful gain more power by spreading negativity – insecurity and fear. After all what percentage of the world’s population/who is actually following the global news?

  4. Thanks for the comments guys! I must say, while I was writing the post it did start out as an argument but alas, got carried away by the “waves” in the “mool” (mental pool)!:) I will enumerate on the “philosophy vs. politics” aspects in later posts, though I think it would be a futile endeavor like mixing oil and water, but hey, what are blogs for if not for such opining?! 🙂

  5. Esra – I completely agree with you about the airwaves (aka “the propaganda machine”) being used for spreading insecurity and fear. I was interested to discuss if we can do something to avert this, active participation etc?!

    And unfortunately, it does seem to be happening on a global scale, the other day my mother asked me when I called her (in India) about the “terror threats” in US after watching a ridiculous 24-hr coverage of “Are we Safe?” on CNN!


Leave a Reply

